Barton considers Residence Life an important part of your total education. Comfortable, wholesome living conditions have a marked influence on your scholarship, habits, attitudes and ideals. Your social life, loyalty to the College, attitude toward others, and your sense of belonging evolve from the community you'll join in Residence Life.
Residence Life is a melting pot of students with diverse backgrounds coming together to form a community as they advance their education. You'll be a part of the largest student interest group on campus! Barton Community College provides campus based housing that will accommodate a total of 440 residents with ADA compliant rooms available.
The Residence Life, Campus Life, and Student Services departments are dedicated to providing safe and comfortable living environments for all students, including those whose gender identity and/or expression differs from that of the sex assigned to them at birth. See the full statement.
Contact Residence Life by calling the Residence Life Coordinator at 620.792.9281 or emailing Housing@bartonccc.edu.
Resident Hall Requirements
Barton Community College requires that all full time students attending the Barton County campus at Great Bend, Kansas (those enrolled in 12 face to face semester hours or more) with a total of less than 24 successfully completed college hours, reside in student housing. Additionally, students must maintain full time student status (12 semester hours) to remain in student housing. Students are exempted from the policy if they meet one or more of the following criteria:
- Student is married
- Student is 21 years of age or older
- Student has a child or children who reside with him or her
- Student is a resident of Barton County or a border county and is residing with parents, legal guardian, or immediate family member of legal age.
Residence Life contract remain in effect for the entire academic year. Contracts are processed on a first come, first served basis. Students may choose to opt out of the contract for the spring semester, provided they meet at least one of the criteria listed above. If a student decides to opt out, written notification must be provide to the Residence Life Office by the last day of fall final exams.
Rooms are reserved on a first come, first serve basis. Students must complete the Residence Life Application and submit the $120 non-refundable application fee. Application will be processed upon receipt of the fee. If space is available, the fee will reserve your room until the first move in day of each semester.
Student Housing Application: To complete the application you will need a Student ID to log in to your Portal account. Once logged into the portal, select the application for the appropriate semester under "Popular Student Links".
Barton Residence Halls and Floor Plans
Bison Halls - Units 1-14 Cottonwood Hall - Hotel Style
Bluestem Hall Single Room - Hotel Style Meadowlark - Units 15-20
Bluestem Hall Twin Room - Hotel Style Sunflower Halls - Units 21-34
To be eligible to reside on campus, all students are required by the Kansas Board of Regents to provide documented proof of meningitis vaccine or sign a waiver declining to receive the vaccination at the present time. Information about meningitis disease and the forms required for vaccine documentation or declination are located within the online housing application. Boosters are recommended if vaccinated prior to the age of 16. You may also access information pertaining to meningitis disease.
Check out the Housing Handbook to find information on campus living! The handbook includes topics ranging from the campus phone directory, facilities, policies, and more.
The Instructions for Residential Halls Wireless Network will help you access the campus housing wireless internet.
Use the Campus Phone Directory for quick access to courtesy phones located around campus. Emergency phones are also located in several locations and can be used by pushing the button which will automatically dial Campus Safety.
Keeping Your Computer Safe is easy with these quick tips! It is up to the student to keep your computer safe from viruses while on campus.
Summer 2021 Housing Rates (4% discount for single pay)
Twin Suite/Double Occupancy (No Meals Payment Plan) - $364.50 per session/$729.00 for both sessions
$120 Housing Application Fee (non-refundable)
May 1st, 2021- Summer Non-refundable application fee due
May 31st, 2021 - Summer Session One (8 weeks ) - single payment due
May 31st, 2021 - Summer Session Two (4 weeks)- single payment due
June 28th, 2021 - Summer Session Three (4 weeks) - single payment due
Fall 2021 - Spring 2022 Housing Rates (4% discount for single pay)
Living center costs and payment plan includes room and board (cost subject to change without notice). Costs below based on 19-Meal Plan and Double Occupancy
Twin Suite (Double occupancy-shared bath) - $2,954 per semester/$5,909 per year
June 1st, 2021 - Fall application fee due - $120
August 6th, 2021 - Fall single payment due*
November 1st, 2021 - Spring application fee due ($120 – for new incoming students for spring semester)
January 7th, 2022 - Spring single payment due*
Payment plans are available by logging into the MyBarton Portal and clicking on Student Financial Center to help students budget charges for the semester.
Housing Opens for Move-In:
1-7 p.m. Aug 13th-14th, 2021 in the Union (Speed up your check-in by following the instructions to register for Cougar Text Messaging). During move-in students will need to show a picture ID (drivers' license, passport, military ID, or state issued identification card) before a housing ID is issued.
Housing Residents Meeting: Strongly Recommended
4:00 p.m. Aug 16th, 2021 in the Auditorium
19-Meal Plan Information
Meals can be used at any serving time, during any one week Sunday thru Saturday. Three meals served five days a week and four meals on the weekends are available for you to choose from.
Housing Application Fee Information
A $120 Housing Application Fee (non-refundable) is required to initiate the housing contract. Housing is reserved on a first come, first serve basis.
Daily Visitation: Daily visitation hours are from 6 a.m. - Midnight.
- Overnight visitation is defined as visitation any time between the hours of midnight and 6 a.m.
- Overnight visitation is allowed Friday and Saturday nights only.
- No overnight visitation is allowed Sunday-Thursday nights. No exceptions. A $100 fine per occurrence will apply to both the host and the visitor. If a visitor appears to have taken up residence, an additional fine will apply. The fine will also apply to giving refuge to a student(s) removed from housing for disciplinary reasons.
- No overnight visitation is allowed during finals weeks.
- Residents hosting a non-resident overnight visitor must notify the Coordinator of Residence Life by email 48 hours in advance (email@example.com). If a non-student visitor is found in violation, they may be banned from housing and the hosting resident will be fined.
- Overnight visitors must be 18 years of age.
All visitors should be escorted at all times. All visitors should be able to produce identification at all times. It is each resident's responsibility to inform their visitor of college and residence hall policies and procedures. Residents are responsible for the conduct of their visitor and are held accountable through the student code of conduct and housing rules and procedures. Misconduct for rule violations will be resolved through the disciplinary procedure. Further, residents are responsible for all activities that occur in their room.
When the activities of a resident and/or visitor cause an undue disturbance to the roommate(s) or to the residence hall community, other resident's rights to privacy, to sleep, and to study in the room will take precedence.